Spore Study: Wadrin(1)

24 10 2008

Recently I have purchased Will Wright’s revolutionary computer game Spore. But rather then break it down or review it in the traditional sense, instead of discussing things such as sound or gameplay, I will develop a story creating two very different species in this remarkable game.Will Wright of Simcity and Sim’s fame is no stranger to putting the player in control of every detail in the sense that the player is also the creator and perhaps even the writer. For the stories that emerge from the creation of an endless array of species is remarkable in itself.

You simply start by clicking on a planet, there is a wide variety of settings and landscapes from a traditional Earth to dark recesses that can only bear a resemblance to classic Startrek planets such as Vulcan or Starwars’ Tatooine for that matter. So after selecting a planet you name the planet. I named mine simply Gaia(Greek for earth) which is appropriate because they’re is lush vegetation and plenty of water on Gaia. After that you pick an evolutionary stage to start.I want to start at the begging and further stages will be explained as I progress through them. So I chose to start from the beginning at the Cell stage. After that you are prompted if you would rather be a herbivore or a carnivore. This is where you choices will significantly alter you abilities and the way you play the game. So these journals will be of the race of creatures I have created called the Wadrin( an anagram of Darwin)who are strictly on a plant diet. The race of species will be covered latter for their story is very different because they will be galactic warlords and meat eaters. The Wadrin are in fact very different but they’re evolution now rests in the hand of me.   So without further ado; a story of life, a story of creation, the story of the Wadrin evolution.

Floating spilling into the primordial liquid of life the first of the species known as the Wadrin is alive. With a quick shreek the Wadrin goes about swimming and looking in its vast primal ocean. The creature is but a simple amoeba-like specimen. The prim is flowing with life of all kinds. Some very large creatures floating and collecting krill and other vegetation in their large jaws sucking and gasping to extinguish life. Other creatures float to other large branches which contain fragments of plant life budding with algae and plankton. Being a consumer of plant-life I swim over to these patches but I must hurry, other specimen understand the importance of food and they’re existence. After eating my fill I witness the death of a unique creature which leaves behind a glowing token of some sort for a boost in the evolution. It’s time to start climbing the ladder. It’s time to collect more plant life.

After a few narrow misses I am finally killed when a pack of ravenous creatures attack a group of my own species I interfere and soon become fish food to they’re gaping jaws. But not to worry, I am quickly respawned and the evolution can commence, but now it’s time to mate! After finding a special mate, I am given opportunities to help my species by evolving and “growing” new parts. I arrange my own vertebrae and make a squid-like creature with writhing flagella to trap plant life in my mouth. I have tentacles on my back used for gripping and propulsion’s through the aquatic abyss. Cilia on the side of my head which act as rudders which help to steer this vassal of a creature. Also on my ass I have to latest in jet-propulsion to jettison me through the water to avoid the numerous predators. Let’s not forget my two button eyes. Now unleashed on this world with more to match up with the predators who are left in my trail of bubbles. But the occasional giant monstrosity can always attack and follow me for long period of time less I avert they’re attention on a pack of other helpless sea brine. With the new tools equipped and evolution in my sights.

More plankton and algae is consumed and I’m on my journey to collect more “parts” to evolve through broken masses of meteorite that crash into the pools. Sacrificing protection and an offensive attack for speed and evasiveness I kept coming back to the basic animal instinct to fight or take flight. I choose the latter when it comes to these denizen of the deep. After a period of at least 600 million years(time flies) the Wadrin can finally sprout legs and race for the surface/ But what horrors await the simply minded Wadrin on land? IS the future simply ready for the Wadrin, or is land a whole new adventure in itself. Tune in for more entries as this evolution continues and check back for the next line of galactic marauders in my Spore stories.